Reflections and ramblings on motherhood and other matters

This article is very important, and should be widely read by pregnant women in Australia. I wish I could say that the lack of breastfeeding knowledge within the Australian medical system is surprising, however my experience has been that the majority of doctors, nurses, midwives and maternal and child health nurses know almost nothing about breastfeeding. In fact if I had listened to the “advice” from the professionals at the hospital when Kaylee was born, I doubt I would have been able to breastfeed at all, and I certainly wouldn’t still be feeding now. Unfortunately I have yet to find a doctor who has any idea about breastfeeding, so I just don’t mention it and ignore their misinformation when it arises. Health professionals in Australia really need to be better informed and pregnant women need to take responsibility to educate themselves.

Lack of Breastfeeding Education – BellyBelly

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

